CNN-Youtube Debate Analysis

Well the reviews are in and it seems that everyone thinks that Huckabee won the debate!!!   The Florida survey conducted with the Florida Chamber of Commerce showed the following results:

Huckabee: 44%
Giulani: 18%
Romney: 13%
McCain: 10%
Thompson: 5%
Paul: 4%
Hunter: 1%
Tancredo: 1%
Rest: undecided

The survey of 341 Republicans who stated they were undecided, intended to watch the debate and agreed to phone in their opinion immediately after the ending was weighted for age and gender. It has a margin of error of +/- 6%.

A survey of Iowa Republicans of over 1,035 Iowa Republicans taken in the last twenty minutes of the debate showed Huckabee the winner in that state as well. The numbers virtually mirrored Florida. They were:

Huckabee: 32%
Romney: 16%
Giuliani: 12%
McCain: 10%
Thompson: 7%
Paul: 6%
Tancredo: 2%
Hunter: 0%
Rest: undecided

You can read the entire report on Southern Political Report

Huckabee’s  answer to the question about believing in the bible was great! 

Governor Huckabee’s answer to the “Would Jesus support the Death penalty?” was also great!! 

Matthew Lee Anderson of Mere Orthodoxy: Tonight’s winner? I’m biased, but I think Huck did particularly well, especially at the end.

Bryron York from the Corner:
[Huckabee’s] clearly on the rise in Iowa and South Carolina, and perhaps elsewhere, and my guess is that people who are considering supporting him liked what they saw tonight.

Patrick Ruffini:
Huckabee actually won. I wasn’t a fan of his previous debate performances, but he dialed down the schtick. This was a debate performance he needed at a critical time.

Erick at RedState: Mike Huckabee scored the debate points on rhetoric and is the winner of this debate. He did really well. He showed up Romney. He showed up Rudy. If Mike could convince me he’s actually a free market guy, I’d be tempted.

Bull Dog Pundit of Ankle Biting Pundits: Mike Huckabee continues to impress, and comes off as the most genuine guy up there. He’s obviously a darling of social conservatives (for good reason) but doesn’t come close to being the MSM stereotype of a “wacky preachy religious guy”. His answer on why it’s impossible to understand the Bible was pure genius. On substance he’s a great salesman for the Fair Tax. I’m not quite sure I’m on board with it, but it does intrigue me, in large part because something about Huckabee makes me trust him and the decisions he makes.

He also gave a good answer to whether he would accept support from the Log Cabin Republicans (”I’ll accept anyone’s support, but I won’t change my views just to get it. We can disagree on things but still support each other on others”).

I also get another vibe from Huckabee. I’m not a very religious guy, and the subject usually bores me, and I can’t stand people who constantly talk about it, because it just turns me off. But I think Huckabee is the kind of guy who you could sit down and talk to about religion that would get you to start thinking positively about religion and get yhou to make it a bigger part of your life, not by bashing you over the head with it, but just getting you to think about its role in your life. Not that I’m at all interested in that (although I should be), I’m just saying I could see him being that kind of guy.

Ed Morrisey of Captains Quarters: Now, who won among the candidates? I’d have to lean towards Mike Huckabee. He steered clear of personal attacks, allowed his natural personality to emerge, and used his sense of humor to great effect. If people wonder why Huckabee has made a major move in Iowa, they saw why.

One Response

  1. […] sherri79 created an interesting post today on CNN-Youtube Debate AnalysisHere’s a short outline […]

Leave a Reply

